The AIA New York Housing Committee's mission is to explore issues of design, policy, and technology in the development of new housing and livable neighborhoods. We invite the participation of all who are interested in housing design, including the development community, students, and members of the public.

AIANY Housing Committee Annual Ratensky Lecture
The annual Ratensky Lecture was established in 1998 by the AIANY Housing Committee in honor of Samuel Ratensky (1910-1972), an architect and housing official who was responsible for major housing initiatives in the city from 1946 to 1972, and who served as a mentor to the many architects who worked in his programs. The lecture series honors individuals who, like Samuel Ratensky, have made significant lifetime contributions to the advancement of housing and community design.

Past Recipients

2016: Roseanne Haggerty
2015: Carmi Bee
2014: Alan Mallach
2013: Carleton Brown
2011: Jerilyn Perine
2010: Richard Ravitch
2009: Joan Goody (David Dixon)
2008: Jonathan Rose
2007: Conrad Levenson
2005: Theodore Liebman
2004: William Conklin
2003: Michael Pyatok
2001: Clara Fox
2000: Edward Logue
1998: Lewis Davis

Related Housing Links:

AIA National Housing Knowledge Community

Design Advisor

New York City
Department of City Planning
Department of Buildings
Department of Housing Preservation and Development
Landmarks Preservation Commission



Private Organizations
Citizens Housing and Planning Council
National Housing Conference
The Enterprise Foundation
The Joint Center for Housing Studies
The Local Initiatives Support Corporation

To join the committee or be placed on our email list, please contact Committee Co-Chair Fernando Villa, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, at, or Co-Chair Peter Bafitis, AIA at

Return to list.


AIA New York Chapter
536 LaGuardia Place
NY, NY 10012
(212) 683-0023

Gallery Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 8pm
Sat: 11am to 5pm

Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 5pm